Pooh was right

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”

“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”

“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.

Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne

Truer words were never said. This is the way I think. Food is the excitement in my life. For me, food offers thrills and pleasures that other parts of my life do not (can not?) offer.

Why food? Maybe it’s because food can be a thrill a day. Everyday is an opportunity to eat something wonderful. Something that fills your mouth with flavors and sets your whole body tingling. And you have to eat. Every day. Or you’ll die. How cool is that?!!

I hear about people being excited about cars or basketball, and I just don’t see it. Big whoop! Don’t let me drive past a new bakery. I’ll be making a u-turn in the middle of the street just to get back to it. I have a friend who feels the same way. You should hear us when one has found a new restaurant or coffee shop.  We remember everything we had and report in detail. It’s so exciting!

How do I have an exciting life, a thrill a day, without food? Nothing has ever been able to take the place of food before, so I struggle to even imagine what would. If anyone has any ideas please let me know. And don’t say exercise in general, be more specific. I’ve tried a lot of different activities and honestly none of them are as thrilling as a really good bread.

November 10, 2008. Tags: , , . diet routine, Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Shannon replied:

    I have blessed with a 200 lb weight loss and it’s been off almost 2 years now. No surgery and for free. I am very grateful for Food Addicts in Recovery Annonymous.. (Foodaddicts.org) See my pictures at http://shannon-river.blogspot.com/ I hope you find to best program for you. Feel free to write.
    God bless,
    Shannon

  2. Here I go again « Weighting replied:

    […] I love sugar, I love bread, I love jams and jellies and crepes. It’s not fair, it’s not right. What am I suppose to do for fun and pleasure now? Pooh was right, Pooh was right. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

